Subscribe to our Daily Newsletter!

Southeast NM College Sets Official Transition Date

Screen Shot 2021-11-07 at 3.27.09 PM

On Tuesday, the members of the new Southeast New Mexico College Board of Trustees took their oath of office at the Eddy County District Courthouse. This was another major step in our college’s independence. We also think it is a great board in terms of diversity of knowledge and interests. Congratulations again to Sarah Bowman, Tiffany Frintz, Bill Murrill, Mark Cage and Ned Elkins. Thank you to Judge Lisa Riley for administering the oath. 

Thanks again to members of our higher education task force, who got this process going and who are still meeting weekly- especially former State Representative John Heaton and Craig Stephens, but also Wendy Austin, Jay Jenkins, Lane Martin, Kyle Marksteiner and many others. The members of our legislative delegation who introduced the bill for independence, Rep. Cathrynn Brown, Rep. Jim Townsend and Senator Gay Kernan, also remain very involved. 

They are still meeting weekly. 

The official transition date for most processes at the college will be in April. This spring’s graduates will be NMSU-C graduates, while next fall’s graduates will be SENMC graduates. New Mexico State University has been working very closely with us to ensure that everything is running smoothly. As it is always the case with all major changes, there’s a lot of extra work to do. Any students or families with questions should get with the college. 

From the office of Mayor Dale Janway

Share Your News or Event with Us!